Let’s Get Organized

I try to keep my house somewhat organized throughout the year, but there’s always one or two areas I can’t seem to keep under control. Today, I’m going to talk to you about one of my biggest problem-areas: how to keep your front closet in order all year long!

When my kids began playing outside in the winter, I noticed our entry closet became a disaster zone. Between boots, mittens/gloves, hats and scarves we couldn’t seem to keep it organized. I would spend more time looking for the “other” mitten longer then they would actually play outside! At the time, we had three cute baskets sitting on the floor of our closet but they never stayed looking “cute”. I finally decided I had enough with them and went on a search for a new solution. I decided to buy an over-the-door hanging shoe organizer from Target. I remember using one as a kid, but my shoes were always too bulky for the compartments so it was a big #FAIL.

shoe holder winter

When I decided to use this shoe holder over the door of our entry-way closet I realized it was genius! I was able to put each pair of gloves in a separate compartment along with hats and scarves! Its become such an easy way to store all of those supplies without losing their match.

shoe holder 1st

During the warmer months, I put all of their winter items away and add sunglasses, baseball hats, sunscreen and flip flops to the shoe organizer! Its such a great way to have everything you need right there for you as you’re about to head out the door. It also reminds me to get that sunscreen on us all before we leave.

shoe holder summer

Maybe you already use this technique for your winter clothing, if so– kudos (great minds think alike)! If not, why not try it out. I promise you, it will save you time and the headache of searching for a matching set of gloves!

 

Leave a Reply

