Let’s Talk Fashion Trends

With fall coming to a close (I know, I know technically we have until December, but around here its been winter for a few weeks!), its time we talk about what winter fashions trends we’re loving and one that I’m not quite sold on yet!

Vests. I’m absolutely loving the vest trend. I cannot get enough of the chambray shirt layered with a striped turtleneck (splurge/save) and your vest. Its warm and so adorable on almost any shape or size.

quilted vest orageOld Navy has these vests for $25 right now and you can take an additional 25% off if you shop online before midnight!

 

Buffalo Plaid. I am loving me some plaid this season! I grew up in Wisconsin in the 90’s so flannel and plaid are part of my heritage (haha). I’m really excited to have it come back main stream and I love the update making plaid a little more dressy. Adding a statement necklace to your plaid gives it a more grown up feel.

buffalo plaid maidwell

Scarves. You have to love a good scarf. You can use them to complete so many looks and they’re always so cozy as the weather gets cool.

scarf urban

Urban Outfitters

Boots. I’m all about the boots, about the boots. I love wearing boots and wearing them the end of August if no one stops me! I’ve got quite a few pairs of ankle booties that I wear daily. I’m really in search of a great pair of riding boots again though (I put those in the back of my closet last winter, but I’m starting to miss wearing that style).

boots target

These boots from Target are calling my name. I’m holding out until Black Friday (er…or should I say Grey Thursday?!) since Target will have them for $18!

 

3/4 sleeves. So this has been a trend I was just so-so about at the start of the season. I already have sleeve problems when shopping because I have some long arms! So finding 3/4 length sleeves around made me slightly annoyed. Thank you to Madam Secretary (if you don’t watch this yet, do! Its great) and her fantastic wardrobe and style, I get it now. They’re a great way to show off your bracelets and we all know how hot stacking them is right now. So, this is one trend I plan to embrace (as long as I don’t freeze to death in the process).

secretary of state

Tea Leoni as Madam Secretary with her 3/4 length sleeves.

Leave a Reply

