Yummy Spaghetti Casserole

Its been a little cooler then usually here for the month of August, which gets me thinking more about the fall. When I think of the fall, I just love making comfort food! I was really in the mood for spaghetti casserole, but hadn’t made any myself in years. I ended up searching Pinterest and found a fabulous recipe that I made a few modifications on. I loved how this one turned out! I had read a few reviews saying it was somewhat “blah” so that’s why I added a little cream cheese and made sure to add Italian seasonings and garlic (all in the notes below) Here’s the recipe…

spaghetti hotdish

1 (16 ounce) package spaghetti

1 pound ground beef                                                                                        

1/4 cup chopped onion                                                                  

2 (26.5 ounce) cans meatless spaghetti sauce

1 (8 ounce) container fat-free sour cream

1/4 of a block of cream cheese (this I added to the recipe I found)                                                       

2 cups  shredded mozzarella cheese, divided                                                                          

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

 Italian Seasoning to taste (I added this, too)

Garlic Salt to taste (I added, too)

salt and black pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a deep 9×13 inch baking dish.
  2. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Stir in the spaghetti. Boil the pasta until cooked through but still firm to the bite, 8 to 10 minutes. Drain well.
  3. Brown ground beef and onion in a large skillet over high heat (add your seasonings here as the meat browns); drain fat. Stir in the spaghetti sauce. Mix together your cream cheese, sour cream and 1 cup of the mozzarella. Add the cream mix to your meat/sauce. Mix in the cooked pasta. Transfer pasta mixture to prepared baking dish. Top with remaining 1 cup of mozzarella and the Parmesan cheese. Cover pan with aluminum foil.
  4. Bake in preheated oven until hot and bubbly, about 30 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

